“Waiting”

I

see you

always there

always waiting

I wish that you were waiting for me, but

it’s clear that you’re waiting for someone else

someone who loves

you more. You

can’t be

mine.

A Double Tetractys written as a response to With Real Toads’ Sunday Challenge. I found it a little challenging, in fact, but it’s a really fun form to play with! Also linked up to Sunday Scribblings #32 – Always

“Secret Colors”

there are colors we know
the almost indigo of  crocuses heralding the spring
or deepest ebony, the hue of grief
perhaps vibrant crimson, the flowers of a bride’s bouquet

but there are colors we don’t know
secret colors
seen only by those who accept the wonder in the world

there is the seductive color of a woman’s swaying hips
drawing men to her presence
there is the blush of dawn, it’s stillness and joy
painted in the morning’s sky

these colors are not seen with the eyes
but with the soul
windows into a massive world of magic and spectacle

 

Hadn’t intended on this being included for Velvet Verbosity’s Prompt from E.B. White, but it it the right word count and fit so well.  I wrote it using most of the words from The Sunday Whirl’s prompt Wordle 57 – A Baker’s Dozen.

“Deer Crossing”

I drive along back country roads
trying to juggle technology’s gifts
the cell phone, the satellite radio, the GPS to navigate me home
distracted
they come from nowhere
a mother, a yearling, and a speckled fawn
tails flicking
ears pricked to the sound of iron beasts rushing past
daintily approaching the edge of the wood
I pull over slowly
I stop, and watch them consider their path
awed by their presence, by their nearness, by their peace
seduced
their existence a spectacle
offering me solace from the everyday
protection from the chaos of modern convenience
if only for a moment

 

Written in response to Three Word Wednesday’s prompt, using the words fawn, juggle, and navigate. Also wrote it to answer the challenge at Velvet Verbosity, for the E.B. White prompt.