“Stones”

I am the wild things
I am the wild rumpus
The cacophonous revelry
The danger and the dance
Fear me
Feel me
Hear me
Heal me
You who sit
Safe in your glass castle
You dare to toss pebbles
But it is I who will
Throw stones
I dream
I scream
I feign
I remain
I am the wild things
I -am- the wild rumpus
The fearsome tirade
The terror and the trance
You speak
You reek
You lash
You trash
Don’t imagine
I won’t find you
Stalk you and slay you
There is no wall which
Can protect you now
Fear me
Feel me
Hear me
Heal me
I am the danger and the dance
I am the terror and the trance
I am the fearsome tirade and the cacophonous revelry
I am the wild things, and I am the wild rumpus

I wrote this for d’Verse’s Poetics: Sendak & the Wild Things. Go check out what other amazing writers have written with the same inspiration!