My Writespace

I’ve already written 1500 words today, so I thought I’d take a break, and show folks what my writespace looks like.

2013-11-07 11.04.37
First of all, there’s my desk itself. Beast though it is, I still love it to pieces (and if I ever move I’m going to have to take it out in pieces I’m sure). A lot of what’s there has little to do with my writing, honestly, but makes it a comfortable place to write. I have my books for writing, and journals on the left, my OBOD ritual books and Touchstone editions on the right, and yarn and knitting needles everywhere. Room enough for whatever I’m drinking, and usually whatever I’m eating too, though I’d like to make myself a heavy trivet or something for when I eat soup at the desk. (I know I shouldn’t but I write while I eat, sue me!) Then of course there’s the laptop. I’m a typing writer, not a hand-writing writer. I’d go insane if I had to hand-write everything.

NaNoWriting
So, my laptop is the source of all my writing goodness. I keep a browser open in the background with twitter (for NaNoWordSprint tweets mostly, since I follow very few people), the NaNoWriMo website, my writing blog (for update posts) and a research site open. I sometimes have a second browser in the very background open as well, with Facebook and Ravelry open, for when I allow myself breaks. I have to Sprint twice before I can take a break, though.
I also keep a calculator on the side of the screen, so that I can see what my writing totals are for a particular sprint. I find that I like seeing how each little sprint adds up to a larger total.

Leave a comment