Brilliant.

I have been trying to decide if I want to try out Scrivener, which is software geared specifically to writers, especially novelists. It’s not terribly expensive, but I didn’t want to buy it if I wasn’t going to like/use it in the long run. They do have a 30-day trial, but if I were to do that now, and then find I like it and use it every day, it would run out before NaNoWriMo ends. I didn’t like the idea of that, because inevitably, things like that run out when you don’t have everything backed up somewhere else and I know how distracted I will get come the end of November, between work and Nerd Wars and holidays.

Well I was perusing the threads on the NaNo forums, and came across one that said there was a special trial for NaNoWriMo users. It turns out you can download it now, and it stays active until December 7th. If you win, you get a 50% discount, and even if you don’t, you get a 20% discount off the purchase price. So, worst case scenario, I like it but don’t manage to complete my novel and end up paying $32. Best case, I love it and only have to pay $20.

So I’ve downloaded it, and played with a bit, and I’m really liking the features it has. It seems to play well with the way I write, and appeals to my need for organization at my fingertips.

Scrivener

Leave a Reply

