“Someone I Used to Know”

You started us
with ‘someone I used to know’
we began in this place
with heartache and heartbreak
what more should I expect
than for the prophesy to come true?

We were born
with words of suffering
songs of separation and loss
so how can I expect more of you
than to make them come true?

I cannot hear them now
without thinking of us
or of you
but that will be okay
one day.

One day I will hear
someone I used to know
and think fondly
of the one
who became the one I used to know.

One thought on ““Someone I Used to Know”

Leave a Reply

