“Whispers in an Empty Room”

I sit
staring out the window
waiting for his return
his voice reaches me
muffled by distance
or time
hollow laughter
following shallow promises
he said he’d come back for me
and so I waited
watching out the window
as seasons passed
it feels like just yesterday
that he left me, promising his return
it’s been fifty years


as soon as I saw this picture I saw a figure sitting in the chair, waiting. A little girl that was at the same time an old woman. This is part of her story, written for Magpie Tales and for Trifecta, which gave us the word “hollow” this week.

8 thoughts on ““Whispers in an Empty Room”

Leave a Reply

