“Thread-like and Tangled”

there is beauty in the way
we think
men and women
so vastly unalike and yet
bound by hungers
so similar
tangled threads which do not
(as some might presume)
make us damaged
instead we are strengthened
given power
by that which we wish for


A very late addition to this past Sunday’s Sunday Whirl. I was in the midst of birthday festivities and missed it, but have finally caught up and was drawn to post this.

“Bombinate”

Image © Tania Allen 2012

I approach the hive
welcomed by a gentle drone
soft murmurings
the whispers of nature’s workmen
their stripes
onyx and gold
a familiar pattern as they swarm
to greet me
these creatures of fascinating tenacity
industrious
ceaseless
tireless in their purpose

With unwavering hands
I reach within
my body swaddled in white
encased in mesh
placing my faith in those coverings
as I become a thief
plundering the hive
for its liquid gold

Departing
I can still hear them
bumbling to one another
humming their indignation
of my treachery.


In today’s challenge at With Real Toads, Fireblossom asked us to lie to her. There is no way this would ever happen.