“A Poet’s Price”

Pompeii

once I told someone
that poetry is all about play
about taking words and pressing them together
in ways that are often
unexpected
that writing a poem is no different to me
than being psychoanalyzed
it exposes
makes raw reality
compels me to search my soul
to find things buried
deep within
it requires I sacrifice little parts of me
carved off and hidden within each poem
the words I share with the world
lay me open
before those who wish to unearth
the secrets
poetry also requires that I take those words
and turn them around
create new realities
envision worlds within worlds
so that the pieces of me I sew into them
are a part of those places
forever


d’Verse’s Ars Poetica this week has us writing poetry about poetry. I’ve already written about poets, but here’s one about the writing itself.

8 thoughts on ““A Poet’s Price”

  1. it exposes
    makes raw reality
    compels me to search my soul
    to find things buried
    deep within
    it requires I sacrifice little parts of me
    carved off and hidden within each poem

    I liked these lines….nice write….

  2. I love the way you opened the poem:

    “once I told someone
    that poetry is all about play
    about taking words and pressing them together
    in ways that are often
    unexpected”

    And this is what I hate about poetry: “writing a poem is no different to me
    than being psychoanalyzed” … You are so right.

  3. I like the way you peeled back the surface of images, rime and rhythm and uncovered the “truth”. Especially liked:
    turn them around
    create new realities
    envision worlds within worlds
    so that the pieces of me I sew into them
    are a part of those places
    forever

Leave a Reply

