“Affected”

I want to live in a fake paradise.

I want to walk across fields of false flowers
Assaulting the air with artificial aromas
too rich to be believed.

I want to be stolen away
taken from all that I know to revel
in dazzling dreams.

I want to ride in counterfeit carriages
secure behind chartreuse curtains
as I hear the wheels
clattering across the courtyard

I want to cross the threshold of an
invented domicile
and dance over faux marble.

I want to sink into imaginary cushions
at an illusory table
and eat phantasmic foods
which cannot fuel my hungers.

I want to live in a false paradise,
all the while knowing my existence
is fabricated.

3 thoughts on ““Affected”

Leave a Reply

