“Awaken”

The rain whispers sweet nothings above my head
daring me to linger here cocooned within the sheets.
Strange dreams beckon with wispy moments,
half remembered visions
of soaring dragons, fearsome monsters
and delicate maidens who don’t need anyone’s protection
refusing to release me from slumber’s sweet embrace.
With my eyes still closed I smile
listening to that ceaseless patter of drops on the window,
remembering sights and sounds too amazing to be real.
The rain whispers good morning and I open my eyes
on a world where there are still fearsome monsters, still dragons
still maidens who don’t need rescue.

Written, not long after awakening, as a response to Velvet Verbosity‘s prompt this week, which was “slumber”.

6 thoughts on ““Awaken”

Leave a Reply

