Teacher

I ran across this prompt .. and I’ve always been one for a challenge. This is the result of my attempt to play along.

“Ready?” I called out to the children playing.
They laughed, took turns secretly hiding their hands.
Nothing more annoys me than people lying,
I’d much rather listen to truth, the whole truth
And nothing but that.

Seeking their answers, they don’t know where they should look.
They have never found someone who will teach them
How to read and write without a prompt. Thus, it’s
Left to me to ascertain how and why they
Ignore their gifts so.

Somehow I will teach them to look within. And
With that they will open their minds to greater
Things. But first they have to see why I ask them,
Tell them not to close themselves off from themselves.
They will learn sometime.

Leave a Reply

