Between

Between you and I there is only air.
There is only breath.

Nothing else should matter, nothing else should stand in the way. We should not seek to put these obstacles between our hearts. So why do we?

It hurts more and more each time.
I cry harder.
You hurt, and scream, and make me want to fly away.

When did it become so difficult? When did something so simple, so intrinsic to our human nature become so heart-wrenching, so painful?

Now between us there is air. There is breath.
And tears.

But even with this I still seek your arms. Your love matters to me. You matter to me. Not even the hurt, when hurt is fading, can take that away. Not even the tears can cause me not to see. I see you. I love you. Even now.

Leave a Reply

